About Us

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science at Chulalongkorn University was founded in the late 30’s as the first mathematics department in the nation. Since then it has grown up and became the academic foundation and root of several other mathematics departments in Thailand.

The department has gradually gained the academic recognition by the domestic and international scholars, researchers, as well as students based on its advancement and strength. During the past history of our department, several academic cornerstones and archievements have been recorded. Our depertment library has more than 10,000 books and more than 10 different journals in Mathematics and Computer Science. The department has wide varieties of computing facilities for supporting the research and teaching.

Department Head : Assistant Professor Dr. Athipat Thamrongthanyalak (2023 – Present)

List of Past Department Heads
Duty Periods
Professor Sanoh Tanboonyeun 1947-1965
Professor Prapan Watcharapai
Professor Khaisri Na Seenlawan
Professor Surawit Kongsasana
Professor M.R. Pakpongsanit Sanitwong
Associate Professor Dr. Wiroon Boonsombat
Assistant Professor Rajit Watanasin
Assistant Professor La-or Chonwiriya
Assistant Professor Rajit Watanasin
Assistant Professor Suwimon Hall
Associate Professor Dr. Wanida Hemakul
Professor Dr. Chidchanok Lursinsap 2004-2006
Professor Dr. Kritsana Neammanee 2006-2014
Professor Dr. Chidchanok Lursinsap 2015-2017
Professor Dr. Kritsana Neammanee 2017-2021
Associate Professor Dr. Ratinan Boonklurb 2021-2023

Our department currently offers 8 programs of study:

  1. B.Sc. (Mathematics)
  2. B.Sc. (Computer Science)
  3. M.Sc. (Mathematics)
  4. M.Sc. (Computer Science and Information Technology)
  5. M.Sc. (Applied Mathematics and Computational Science)
  6. Ph.D. (Mathematics)
  7. Ph.D. (Computer Science and Information Technology)
  8. Ph.D. (Applied Mathematics and Computational Science)

Latest News